Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Seasoned Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

OXCELL

Level 5
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
The domain in question is Coppermark.com
I registered this name several months before the CoppermarkBank was formed or thought of.
In checking the other extentions I found that the Coppermark Bank had picked up the .net & .org extentions, not in use, along with Coppermarkbank.com and their related extentions.
The Bank also applied for a trademark on the coppermark name.

My question is obvious, although I registered this name several months before the creation of the bank and their filings, would this bank have a right to legally press this issue to obtain the name?

Thank you for your input!

guile

DNF Member
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I would develop a completely irrelevant site that thier trademark wouldn't cover. I'm not a lawyer, but i'm pretty sure the fact that you owned it before the bank established helps your case greatly.

OXCELL

Level 5
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Thank you for the input.

Theo

Account Terminated
Reaction score
Application for registration of a mark with the USPTO does not mean that with prior commercial use they did not have rights to the mark. IMO, you are asking for trouble with all the *mark names you've been registering.

draqon

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
even if you registered the domain before they filed for the mark or even started using the mark in commerce, i still wouldnt use the domain for anything related to banks or finance or loans.

DNQuest.com

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Did you have insider knowledge the name was a possible name to be used for commerce, or do you work for any compnay associated with the bank or marketing firm? Or did you just register it and came up with the name all by yourself?