Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Shrewd Idea... Buying Local Business Names ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AtTheLake

Level 4
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Okay I understand I will likely take some heat for asking the question; and maybe it has been asked before?

I am a Maintenance Man by day and interact with hundreds of people weekly, so this is probably where this idea stemed from. I have been studying domaining for a couple months now and have spent many hours and long nights reading DNForum and other material as well and have came to the realization this business is a bit tougher than appears on the surface. (LIKE EVERYTHING INVOLVING MONEY) :-/ That doesn't reflect my thoughts about the next question though. I am simply wondering/hypotheticals about anyone doing this or experiences. (not saying I am doing this or will) :cool:

Like i said I visit with many people a week and deal with many large and small businesses a week. I have noticed maybe 40-60% have some type of web presence (10-20% something good.. cause i look them up and the remaining very low budget website), be it their own website or "worse" general information about their business that is on google page 1 from another web provider of sorts. about employees, address, phone # etc.

My question is... How shrewd would it be to register some of the businesses domain name's and try to strike a deal with them??

I would like opinions on if some of you do this or not?

Some of these businesses have been in business a long time (10-40 years) and some don't have a website or domain; as they are run by typically a white male in his 50-60's that is not tech savy. Some of these businesses likely bring in 300K-1.5MM in revenue each year and it amazes me they don't even have a website.