Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

TM Issue for a Non US Citizen

Status
Not open for further replies.

krossat

Rohan
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Well I've started domaining last month onwards and one question keeps jumping in my mind.

I am a resident of India and am also purchasing .com's.
Now an issue i had in mind was, as i am on the lookout for good generic names, i might at some time come across a name which some company contests as a Trademark infringement issue (not that i would like that to happen intentionally).
Under these circumstances, I've got the impression from the earlier posts that I have two ways to go about it, i.e.
1. Hand over the Domain
2. Contest the case.

What i wantred to know is, being a Non-US citizen, how could i contest the case? What happens when a Non-US individual gets a Trademark infingement notice? Does he simply have to let go of the domain (without even getting a chance to contest it)?

Thanks for the help.
Rohan.

VirtualT

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
establishing your own rights to the domain is the best thing you can do

krossat

Rohan
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Yes but establishing the rights to whom?
Whom would I contact or put forward my case to?

Similarly, if one starts a web service under a specific domain name, and then gets a TM Issue, where would one put forth his case? How do bigger Non-US Conpanies do business securely under a .com domain...? All this seems to be really uncertain. :upset:

Thanks

DNQuest.com

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
In UDRPs, everything is done via email correspondance. So even though you are in India, you can correspond the same as someone who lived in the US. As far as being non-US and TMs, it doens't rellly matter. The criteria is (and this is paraphraswing)

1- similar or confusingly similar to a TM
2- rights to the domain name