Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Tm Ns8

Status
Not open for further replies.

sellinbiz

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Found it thanks. Looks like NS8 is trademarked.

diverge

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I am not a lawyer (as you would otherwise soon deduce), but it looks to me that the only TMs for NS8 are both "Service Marks". Doesn't this denote the drawing, and not the letters themselves? Aren't there some trademarks (i.e., drawings) that do not guarantee their owners use to the corresponding domain names? Can anyone clarify the differnet types of TMs -- and their domain name enforceability?

Also, the attorney on record with the USPTO is Jason Rhodes. While this company may employ multiple attorneys' offices, I would be a bit leary since the letter above is apparently signed "Cliff". In other words, wouldn't that be an interesting scam -- to scare people into giving up perfectly usable domains due to non-existing trademark issues, or trademark conflicts that are unenforceable. Just thinking out loud on this.

Ovicide

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
sellinbiz said:
Found it thanks. Looks like NS8 is trademarked.

"NS8" may be a common-law mark, but it is not a registered trademark in the United States.

Go back to uspto.gov, look up the mark again, and click the "Check Status" button.

You'll see:
Filing Date: 2004-06-01
Newly filed application, not yet assigned to an examining attorney.
First Use in Commerce Date: 2004-04-00

If you really want the name, you might check with one of the lawyers here to learn whether your use of "ns8.com" will infringe their mark.

sellinbiz

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Update: They (whoever Cliff represents) offered $500 each for a total of $1,000. Not sure what they mean by $500 each I only own NS8 .com.

domaindirk

Level 7
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score