Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Trademark & Google AdSense

Status
Not open for further replies.

w11guy

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I own photoshopsoftware.com. If I put up a photoshop site with google adsense, will I get in trouble because photoshop is a trademark name? Also, am I likely to get in trouble with adobe photoshop?

marcorandazza

Level 5
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I would go further and say that you should drop that domain like a hot potato.

w11guy

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
ok, I get the picture, but I'm new to this so can someone elaborate. there are lots of websites around that have trademark names contained within them, but no-one seems to care. And is it wrong to have a trademark name in the dmain if you are reveiwing the product. It's obvious I'm not pretending to me photoshop. I don't understand the law in these cases so am just asking for an exlpanation. I'd be grateful if anyone can provide one.

draggar

þórr mjǫlnir
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
It is all up to the TM owner - some don't care, some see it as free advertising, others are rather aggressive about defending their TMs.

Your domain is clearly targeted towards their software and it is a TM. the company in question does have the right to file a WIPO against you and you'll have a hard time defending it (plus I think they can be rather aggressive with "protecting" their TM). Even if you have no ads and make no money from the domain, they can still (attempt to) take it from you.

It is also about use - especially when it comes to generic terms. If you were very lucky and picked up Apple.com and used it to promote products in regards to the fruit (apple pie, apple tarts, apple cider, forums to discuss growing apple orchards, etc..) AND you kept anything computer related out of your ads there isn't a thing Apple (computers) could do about the TM.