Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Trademarks,lawyers & other headaches.

Status
Not open for further replies.

garyrcanuck

Exclusive Lifetime Member
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Being in this domain industry for only a few years i am finding that this is not one of the easiest occupations to be in. This is GOOD of course, or everyone would be doing it.:)

One of the biggest problems I am finding is this Trademark thing. It appears to me that every word,saying or descriptive phrase is Trademarked.

I have read & reread all I can about trademarks, but not being a lawyer I cannot understand most of it as these laws were written by Lawyers so no one else will understand them.

It is quite easy to pick out words and phrases that are probably trademarked. Fot example Olympics, games, Name of city & year Olympics are being held and so on. I did receive a C&D about one of my names so I know this.

OK, what I would like some feedback on is a name I have (several actually) Lets say it is the name of a city, like "cityofwherevercanada*com" I went to the Canadian intellectual website (which I found on this forum,Thanks)
Here i searched for the name and found it trademarked which included a logo or flower of some sort? It was only the name & logo that was Trademarked, the name Canada which I have in my Dname was not mentioned.

Question, if "cityofwherever" is trademarked does it also apply to "cityofwhereverCANADA"?