Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Traffic Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

stockshark

DNF Member
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Hey all newbie here....

Just have a question about traffic... how do you find names with good traffic, and how do you know how to value a site based soley on traffic, exclusive of the domain name itself? For example, on sedo right now there's a domain for sale which claims 400,000 uniques a month (based on the name it looks adult). Is there any way to tell if this is linked traffic, or type-in etc? How would you know what to offer for a domain like this?

Basically I am interested in finding sites that either already have traffic/ppc or something I can implement myself to make monthly income off the traffic. Is there any good reading material someone could point me to on how to get started. Or has anyone been doing this for awhile and has some tips or secrets they can share? :smile: Thanks, any help appreciated.

edit: Almost forgot one other thing: What is considered "good" traffic? Is this all relative based on the domain name, tld, etc?

DNjet

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum! watch out at sedo , a lot of those stats are munipulated by the owner to fraud newbies. Type-in traffic is the best traffic you can have , type-ins can come from a term someone is looking for , then they tend to type in that term with the .com , seldom in other extensions though . Then there is typos of popular sites that also get type-in traffic , but there you are most likely infringing on a trademark (TM) . Expired domains can also be good sometimes , with the old site having backlinks still pointing to the domain , over time will fade though , and last but not least you can develop any domain by putting a website under it with proper SEO and pick up some search engine traffic.