Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

urgent question!!!

purple8pe

Level 2
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
im new to the domain business, so im still learning what not to do and thngs to avoid in order to be successful in this business. i have a question though which im unable to find the answer to for example is it legal to sell lilwayne.com to lilwayne or any name for that matter and if so why not. one more question sorry are there any mentors in this forum

Domain summit 2024

Castion

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Sure there are plenty of mentors here. But if you expect one on one sessions, then you probably will get what you pay for... Instead just ask your questions as you are doing and we will answer in due time ;)

Regarding selling names of people to people.. Its frowned upon but illegal its not. If you use the domain name to display advertisements related to a certain celebrity and it matches this persons name, the picture becomes a bit more murky. Just like TMs you can be targetted for leeching on some-ones brand. Recently JudyGarland .com and .net has been hit with a UDRP for just this reason... So in conclusion its not illegal, but if you profit from the name you can be targetted with UDRP. If its succesfull or not is hard to say in advance without knowing the exact circumstances.

I never invested in those sorts of names, but I know of people that do. If I were you I would look elsewhere for a lucrative niche.

Castion

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I just saw your testla spacex names.. Thats different.. That has live trademarks on it, you should drop those ASAP. That type of names can lead to prosecution. I will let @RobM chime in on that one.

Biggie

DNForum Moderator
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
for example is it legal to sell lilwayne.com to lilwayne or any name for that matter

Hi

IF...and that's a big IF,