Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

USPTO = United States Pretend Trademarks Office

Status
Not open for further replies.

Garry Anderson

Level 5
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
The United States Registered Trademark System is a sham.

I am grateful to John Berryhill for informing me of this.

Although, I am certain he will refute this objective analysis of our recent exchange - for one thing his livelihood is linked to the Trademark System. For another, he does not want to be done by USPTO for libel.

I was blind to this before, because the logic made absolutely no sense.

I see it now that John has spelt it out for me.

Perhaps he will be kind enough to tell us if anything is untrue in this post.

After all is said and done - I am no lawyer and all this is purely my informed opinion.

I am sure everybody knows this - but will state the obvious:

When a person gets something with a trademark (goods or services) - either directly from supplier, or from reseller, or by post, or as gift, or however they got it - this trademark is meant to give the consumer assurance that it came from one supplier.

This ensures that whatever the product or service is, that it is of a certain quality.

To do this it has to be unique - this is most central of all to trademark law.

I have to inform you that US trademarks are a Zip code lottery - different businesses can use the exact same mark to sell similar product or services. Therefore, what you may think of as a trademark, can change as soon as you drive over a state line.

Specific example (with JB help): Your friend sees your favourite 'La Tapatia' tortillas on offer in a food magazine or on the Internet and buys a massive box as present for your birthday. They taste like cardboard - because they are not the same ones you like.