Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Verisign's redemption period...

Status
Not open for further replies.

com

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I am not sure i understand it all clearly... NameWinner is saying the redemtion is on and that all drops are postponed, etc.

Can anyone clear this up? What are we looking at here?

com

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score

DotComster

Level 8
Legacy Gold Member
Reaction score
The drops have stopped, almost. There are still a few hundred daily drops ( http://www.exody.com/whois-search/expired.txt )

A higher percentage of .Orgs to.

I'm no expert at NameWinner, but I think they just thought it best to lay low during Feburary - it really is a weird month for expireing domains.

com

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score

damn... that means an extra 30 days on top of what we alrady have... so much for drop-catching services. This will surely knock them out. A good % of snaps are placed in the hopes of the origian owner forgetting or missing the expiration period, with an extra 30 days through which the owner can renew, hopes will drop to a new low, hence snap business will slowly die out...

chatcher

Crazy Chuck
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I doubt the new grace period will have much effect, other than delaying the drops. Once an expired domain name makes it through a few days of registrar hold (inactivity), in addition to whatever expiration notices the registrar sent, the owner must not care if it's down. Those that wait until the last possible minute to renew (a month or so past expiration) for cash flow reasons won't wait into the redemption period because it's much more expensive to redeem than to renew.

I think we're all just getting a needed vacation (and a much more useful registry whois service).