Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

What is/are domain development criteria?

Status
Not open for further replies.

marlu

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I have a few new, as in just registered with no history, generic domain names like runoutof.com and getalongwith.com. These few domains have an exact global monthly search exceeding 1500. Are domain names with exact global monthly searches > 1000 an indicator that these domains should be developed or flipped. I am an absolute newbie to domaining and and would like to know what to do with these domains.

Also, in general, is there a criteria to determine if a new domain is worth flipping immediately or developing first?

Many thanks for you suggestions.

Luay

GeoOwners

Level 6
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
enter those terms into google or bing or yahoo. If there are a bunch of advertisers on the sides your fine. If none or only a few you have a problem.

marlu

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Ok, so if there are ads then it is good for development. If there are no ads then it is good for flipping?

Shane

Account Terminated
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
If there are no ads you will still have a hard time flipping. For a domain to be valuable it absolutely has to have development potential (or I guess sentimental value). If there isn't development potential then there aren't any potential end users. You also can't just hand register a name and then sell it for more.

I just quickly peaked at your portfolio and I would recommend you try to get a refund for all of the names. Do some research, learn a little about domains and development then give it a second shot.

marlu

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score