Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

When to place back-orders?

Status
Not open for further replies.

roberto

Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm new to this and have a few questions:
-Does it matter when I place a back-orders, so could other users see that somebody wants to back-orders a Domain?
-If I'am the only one who back-orders the Domain:greenlaugh: will it go to a auction anyway or is it sure that I will get it if they catch it?

Maybe they use Scripts that place autom. a bit if there someone placing a back-order?!
Or I'm paranoid?

Regards
roberto

HarleyDude

Level 2
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Drop catching is way more complicated than you think. I gave up on it pretty early on, but I'm sure there are plenty of people around here who have been successful at it. I think it's a waste of time and money.

All of the registrars are connected to a drop catcher. For example, Network Solutions uses SnapNames. So check the domain registrar and see which drop catcher they affiliate with. Using that drop catcher's service (or multiple services) should theoretically increase your chances of success.

As far as knowing about other backorders, you don't. That's how the registrars make their money.

I have found that looking on Sedo or AfterNic or this site yields better domain names with less of a hassle and at about the same price than drop catching, but that's just me.

There's a good article here that has references to other articles.

x

cursal

MomsDigest.com For Sale!
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I have given it a few shots and have been successful at getting the names I wanted. :)

But....I am not sure how the drops fall and what madness happens behind the scenes.

I know that I was expecting a bidding battle for one of the names for sure.
It dropped and I didn't get it.
It "captured" by somebody else. I got the email to prove it.