Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Which would you prefer? A great .net or a good .com

Status
Not open for further replies.

tradingnames.org

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi folks I am a noob and trying to learn how to appraise domains properly and get my head around some of the basic fundamentals, I was wondering how would you rank the following four domains as an example from best to worst, one been the best and four been the worst:

Lcdtv.net 1,830,000 searches
Lcdtvs.net 823,000 searches
lcdscreen.com 22,200 searches
lcdscreens.com 9,900 searches

I have chosen these examples to give me an idea of .com v .net if given that kind of choice and singular v plural, specifically in regards to a product based name.

Many thanks

John

Biggie

DNForum Moderator
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
they all suck

the technology will fade when something new comes along

and one example does not apply across the board for random product/service domains

some plurals domains perform better than singular and vice versa

so any conclusion you try to draw... will be inconclusive

imo...

britishbulldog

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Yeah led tv's are all the rage now,then it will be 3d and so on it will go forever !

james2002

Buying Premium Domains
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
If those are examples, would choose great .net with million searches over good .com low xx,xxx range.

Denny501

Level 2
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I always lean toward the .com first so #1 would be the shorter LCDSCREEN.com, plus if I registered that domain first, LCDSCREENS.com would be a infringement on lcdscreen.com, so I wouldn't have to worry about it as compitition.

LCDTV.net would be #2...again the plural would infringe on my domain so I would not even purchase it.

tradingnames.org

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score