Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Basic Tips

Status
Not open for further replies.

DomianJay

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Anybody want to share their formulas or techniques with me.. I'm new to domaining and could use all the advice that comes my way. Thanks in advance

Biggie

DNForum Moderator
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Anybody want to share their formulas or techniques with me.. I'm new to domaining and could use all the advice that comes my way. Thanks in advance

here's my advice and it's for every newbie to domains:

first decide whether you want to be "spoon-fed", or you want to feed yourself?

Charles Sweeney

Level 5
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Only register .coms. Don't register a name with a hyphen in it. Don't register a trade mark. Don't register stupid/incorrect grammar phrases like "WidgetsForSell". Don't register "numbers for words" like "Widgets4you2" or text speak like "Widgets4u2". Simple reason, lest it not be obvious, you can't pass the name on by word of mouth.

Are you just wanting to buy and sell names or are you wanting to develop sites? If simply buying and selling, remember anyone can come along and register the name you just registered. I often see names for sale, frequently for daft money, where I can get two or three *better* names with five minutes searching, so why would I pay big bucks for the other guy's name?

I think you would be much better developing a site, but PLEASE don't make it the 11 billionth directory!!!

Good luck.

Fabbstar

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Only register .coms. Don't register a name with a hyphen in it. Don't register a trade mark. Don't register stupid/incorrect grammar phrases like "WidgetsForSell". Don't register "numbers for words" like "Widgets4you2" or text speak like "Widgets4u2". Simple reason, lest it not be obvious, you can't pass the name on by word of mouth.