Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Comments from the Lawyer that got a C&D Letter

Status
Not open for further replies.

[email protected]

Level 2
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I'm an electrical and computer engineer from Carnegie Mellon University turned patent attorney. I'm a dork and, as such, have personally filed for patents (15+), trademarks, and own roughly 300 domains. My personal site is http://www.jeffreymullen.com.

Anyway, last week I personally received a meritless C&D letter for one of my domain names. The matter is now dead, but I was interested in seeing what was said here as I have never ventured outside the "for sale" thread. My general comment is that if you want to protect your name -- get advice from a lawyer before you do anything. It is amazing how many people just shoot themselves in the back.

As you should know, I am not allowed to give any advice to non-clients.

I am going to see if its possible for me to give a general presentation on domain name law (either via webcast or a site with a downloadable presentation). Either way, I'm sure the major trade shows have such presentations (and if they don't, they should).

Jonathan

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
A lecture would be cool. :)

ParkQuick.com

DNF Regular
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Great idea! There is some awfully bad advice given out here at times. It would be nice if you or John Berryhill were the first to reply on all therads like this - but that seldom happens. Please do post a video lecture!

In any event, I am going to check with my firm to see if its possible for me to give a video lecture on domain name law and post it to a site. I think it would help. Good idea? Bad idea?

DNQuest.com

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score