Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

How to use multiple domains the most effectively

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chants

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi . First of all my apologies for such a long post but I feel it might be of interest to other people as well and hope someone might have enough time to read it.

I am a newbie marketer and have been a little involved in domaining. I advised my brother who is a medical surgeon in training to get a lot of plastic surgery domains ( since this is his field of specialization ). He has paid for all his own studies and wont have much start up capital when he begins to practice so I wanted to help him get a head start with some effective internet marketing.

He made what was for him a significant investment in domains based on my advice and now I am wondering whether this is money well spent.

What urged me to advise him was the following advice i got from a domaining course I bought : " Another excellent marketing tactic you should consider is to have multiple URL addresses ( including your domain name ) point to the very same web site. This will allow you to keep your legacy domain name, while multiple new e-business names conduct commerce and are listed in the search engines, significantly increasing your web sites overall traffic." He goes on to say that many businesses these days own more than one domain for this reason.

However I have since discovered that the url doesnt appear in the search results if you simply type in the keywords ( which is what most searchers do ) but only if you type in the exact domain name ( my brother owns a few .coms , ,nets, .org , .biz and .tel ) Also I was told that if you url forward a domain Google views it as duplicate content and will not list it.