Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Internationalized Domain Names (IDN's)

Status
Not open for further replies.

basscaster

Level 5
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Anyone have an opinion or advice on these? Will they work, are they just more marketing hype from Verisign, are they worth anything, great investment, waste of money, will/won't work with email servers, etc.

I have a few and I'm wondering if it's a great investment, or great waste.

http://www.idnnow.com/index.jsp

ExpireGuy

DNF Member
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
xbase234 said:
Anyone have an opinion or advice on these? Will they work, are they just more marketing hype from Verisign, are they worth anything, great investment, waste of money, will/won't work with email servers, etc.

I have a few and I'm wondering if it's a great investment, or great waste.

http://www.idnnow.com/index.jsp

Strange. This is my first time hearing about it and from my understanding
"Internet Users >>
Download the free i-Navâ„¢ plug-in. The i-Nav plug-in enables users to navigate the Internet..."
Users need the plug in to navigate to these new "internationalized domain names". Hmmmm.
I'll take the " Just more marketing hype from Verisign " for 300 Alex....(sorry I just watched Jeopardy)

basscaster

Level 5
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Well, that's one of my thoughts on this, but there is a legitimate consortium that is promoting the interest of these names throughout world - without the plug-in, and actually configured at the server level. Some say it has legs; others say it will never happen. Just wondering from some of the more knowledgable tech folks here at DNF if this is possible (involves 7-bit, 8-bit, and 16-bit encoding).

madcamel

Level 7
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Currently, most browsers except for IE, support IDNs natively (no plugin needed).