Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Newbie from Ireland with a question about parking

Status
Not open for further replies.

MAllie

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie from Dublin, in Ireland. My first question is about parking. I've been reading a lot about it on the forum, but one thing puzzles me. I have bought most of my names through GoDaddy, and when I put them into the address bar I come up with a page full of ads placed there by GoDaddy, who says it's parking them for free for me. So GoDaddy is presumably getting the income from them.

So, the first part of my question is, am I allowed to move my domains for parking elsewhere, where I will be able to get the revenue (no matter how small), or will GoDaddy object? Second, how exactly do I go about doing this? Unfortunately, when I say 'exactly,' I need a step-by-step guide, as I am not just a newbie but pretty nontechie.

Thanks in advance for any answers. :)

dcristo

Level 9
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
What you are seeing is the default landing page when parked at GD.

You can do whatever you want with the domain.

Change the nameservers and park the name with a different provider, or you could use URL forwarding to achieve the same purpose.

MAllie

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Thanks again, decristo. I do have more than ten and, naturally, I think they are reasonably good, but I suppose parked.com would have the last word on that. As easy as 123 isn't necessarily easy, either, for someone who could only attempt foundation maths, but I'll try. And it's very kind of you to reply so soon with this information.

If I decided to develop any of these names, do you know if it's easy to remove them from parking, or is there a minimum waiting time? :)

draggar

þórr mjǫlnir
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score