intro Greetings From Southern California

This thread is a member's introductory post on DNForum.com.

Charles Harmon

Travel Quiz Weekly | UiiR - Nostalgia Comics
Reaction score
I'm a well aged senior citizen wanting to get into the domaining business.

I'm new to domaining although I had some 700+ domain names in 2004-5. Many were catchy or semi-generic names I thought someone might want or like. Most I let expire over the years, a few I've sold, and about 100 or so I still have. Most of those I still have are about 10 years old. I used to make about $1000/yr. in parking revenue but that dried up several years ago. I thought about actively trying to sell domains back in 2005-6, but went on to other things...mostly to my regret.

Of the domains I've kept, mostly because I bought them to develop, I had about 70 sites on them, but due to insufficient time I have been letting the domains expire and taking a lot of the sites down. Over the years I have sold maybe a dozen domains and made at least $10,000 profit. However, I think most of those few sales were mostly luck since I never actively promoted them.

About a year ago I set up two sites to promote some of my domains along with many more from another source that I want to sell, but have been lax in actually promoting those sites, except on banner ads on some of my sites. Now I am ready to learn the ins and outs of investing in domains and hopefully making a profit in the process. I think this is the place to be to learn more about domains.

Charles

Daniel Levi

Level 5
Reaction score
Welcome to DNF! The first place I would start at would be DomainSherpa.com. They have some great video interviews, and they are all amazing. Check out Adam Dicker's 2 part interview about how to sell a domain name-- very helpful and interesting.

Charles Harmon

Reaction score
Thanks everyone. I already saw Adam's interviews on Domain Sherpa. I've also seen a lot of the other interviews there.